top of page
  • Writer's pictureTakeisha Strickland

The category is: Love Languages?

Dear Reader:

Is it true what they say, LOVE LANGUAGES exists? I'm sure you've heard of the different styles of love languages displayed by couples. We've each tried to make these fit our relationships. If you're still unsure what I'm speaking of, here are the famous 5 Love Languages as we know them:

  1. Words of Affirmation

  2. Quality Time

  3. Acts of Services

  4. Gifts

  5. Touch

It's said these are the 5 ways one expresses or receives love. One knows how your actions show your love and how you respond to feelings of love. The question is, do we only respond to 1 language? Seriously, I'm asking for myself.

Honestly, I respond to all 5 languages with any given situation. Here's how.

Words of Affirmation:

The first thing I learned about a relationship is the importance of communication. I was once told millennials thrive off of being told they're doing a good job. I believe this! It's similar in a relationship. Who doesn't want to be told several times a day just how beautiful they are or how much they are loved. It's definitely a YES for me! In turn, I've found that my husband positively responds to being told "thanks for washing the dishes" or "I appreciate you for giving the kids a bath". There's something about the actual words being spoken, even if you already feel it. I KNOW he loves me but; I also NEED to HEAR it.

Quality Time:

This one speaks for itself. Quality time is unmatched! I'm a very family oriented person. You should know by now, my family means everything to me. But the alone time I spend with my husband hits differently. We recharge by taking trips alone or incorporating a date night as often as time allows. For us, quality time comes in the form of laying in bed together without using our phones. We use this time to catch up on each other's day, watch shows we both like together, or just enjoy the silence.

Acts of Service:

Ya'll, my husband still holds the doors open for me and teaches Harley to do the same for ladies. This alone makes my heart melt and is easily a love language. It takes a good man to raise a good man. Wanna know what other act of service woos me? Filling up my car with gas! This simple act of kindness shown, without having to ask, reminds me why I chose him. When he behaves, he gets his favorite, lasagna. Together, we've mastered the art of remaining cognizant of each other's dislikes. Ex: Trey tackles the dishes while I do homework with the kids. See, this works for us. In this way, we each utilize each other's strengths.


So, what's a girl's true best friend IMO?! Anything that comes in the form of a gift! Right?! Do you prefer to pick your own gift, like me, or would you like to be totally surprised? In my case, I respond to gifts ideas that may have been spoken about in previous months or other gifts in the form of, " I remember you liked this perfume you tried the last time we were out." When he pays attention to details, I'm immediately swooning!


Sure, good morning or goodbye kisses are expected, but it's the unexpected forehead and cheek kisses for me. Why are these type of kisses so romantic? I can't be the only one who believes this! Oh and those subtle touches like his hand resting on my thigh while he's driving sends chills down my back.

What about holding hands? I always reach for Trey's hand during walks or even sitting across the table on a date. You know what I've learned? My kids must feel the connection after seeing us holding hands. This is their que to also reach for an open hand. Hand holding is often used as leading or giving direction, but hand holding used in the form of showing love and physical connection is EPIC. Have you also thought about connections that's not as physical? Here's something to think about? What do you think of those couples who sit on the same side as each other in a booth while on a date? Are you one of those?

I need them all. Not in a selfish kind of way, but I absolutely respond to them all.

Truth is, my love language is when:

"Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous. It does not brag, does not get puffed up does not behave indecently, does not look for its own interests, does not become provoked. It does not keep account of the injury. It does not rejoice over unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails."

1 Corinthians 13: 4-8


When love sounds like this, now you're talking to me daddy! I hear you loud and clear!

P.S. If you really want to practice using the love languages, try them on your kids, like I do, and see how they respond.

Sincerely Seven!

38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page